Why be yourself when you can be someone else?

25 04 2007

This is the question that the modern man and the modern woman has to ask themselves if only they get time from their busy routine. The modern man and woman is too busy running after his or her goals and mechanically executing their daily routines that they have seldom time to reflect on the activities that they are doing. Hence people do not have time to be themselves and feel better off by merging into the crowd. This is one of the quintessential question that has been raised by many existential thinkers starting from the father of Existentialism himself, that is takes courage and going against the flow to be oneself. Now those who go with the flow can ask such people “Why be yourself when you can be someone else?” Such is the paradox of life.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 04 2007
rabab

“Hence people do not have time to be themselves and feel better off by merging into the crowd…it takes courage and going against the flow to be oneself.”

I work in corporate America and absolutely hate the fact that I have to ‘merge into the crowd’, but I actively (not mechanically) choose to do it. I don’t work in this profession because I ‘enjoy’ it or because it is ‘convenient’; in fact, I suffer internally an extensive amount because I’m fighting against what I really am (that is, someone who probably doesn’t belong in this profession). However, because of wordly responsibilities, I choose to fight against my real inclinations or what I really should be. What does that make me if I actively choose to be someone else?

27 04 2007
Eisenheim

Rabab Marx in this case would call you alienated labor. 🙂 However I am not a big fan of Marx so I will just say that many of us do have to sacrifice to make both ends meet and many people who do not want to blend in are forced to do so. There are people who I would class the part of the creative class who do have the potential to break free of this cycle. Many of them do so but the pity is that many do not.

>> What does that make me if I actively choose to be someone else?
I can give you answer but I do not have a satisfactory answer myself because this is a question who answer I am still searching, or rather I should say debating.

Leave a Reply

